Wishlist: Hurricane Insurance

There is a man that I long and desire to see every morning. Sometimes, I even dream about him. He is one of the main reasons why I wake up every morning. He is… the mail man.

Today, he left me another present in my mailbox. A big, white envelope from University of Florida – Fredric G. Levin College of Law. Yeeyah~… It was the first acceptance letter from a top-tiered school. I was beginning to yield to the idea that perhaps I wasn’t cut out for a school ranked higher than 50. I must disclaim that I’m not obsessed about getting in to highest ranked school possible. But I do concede that it was a nice self-esteem booster to get an acceptance letter to join the Gator Nation.

Univ. of Florida Law graduates happen to be among of the least indebted compared to law graduates across the nation (average total debt upon graduation is approximately $50,000). Now that is what I like to hear… 😉

One problem. Hurricanes. I’m not a big fan of rain. Call me crazy, but I like my belongings to be not soggy, especially after having resided in Nevada for 14 years.

Okay. Two problems. Hurricanes and non-metropolitan location. I wanted to move to a major city for several reasons:

  1. Public transportation: I am cheap and I am green (figuratively…). I wanted a big city where public transit system is developed well enough that I can get rid of my car and not have to worry about insurance, gas prices, carbon footprint, and, most importantly, vehicle maintenance. I have a feeling I’ll get ripped off by mechanics without my dad’s advice (and his mechanic friend).
  2. Cultural diversity: I love classical music, jazz, and theatres. I want a city with its own symphony and a ballet or opera company. I want to be able to see Broadway musicals or independent play productions. I want to be able to chill with some friends to a good jazz jam session. And I want cuisine of every sort at my disposal. What can I say? I like my food…
  3. Church home: I have always wanted to experience what it is like to be in a so called “mega-church.” Is it all it’s cracked up to be? But more importantly, I want to find a church where I can call home. I’ll miss Living Stones terribly, and they will undoubtedly be irreplaceable. But I will have to try my best to find somewhere to belong.
  4. Legal experience: I want a major city where there is a great need for serving the community with their legal problems. Public interest and social justice issues are big interests of mine, and I have a feeling I will have more opportunities to get my hands wet in a big city than a small suburb.

I guess that’s more than just two problem, eh?

I’ll have to do some thinking. Good thing I have until May 15th for UoF’s tuition deposit deadline…

Posted in Law

Leave a Reply

